Depending on your particular case, the penalties that are imposed on you for DUI can be moderate or harsh. In the case of administrative penalties, these punishments are added when you are convicted of DUI. They are not influenced by what you receive with respect to criminal penalties.
Contact Attorneys to Schedule a Hearing
For example, if you refuse or fail a blood alcohol test, you will have your license either revoked or suspended by the North Dakota Department of Transportation. If you wish to fight the revocation or suspension, you must talk to DUI attorneys in Fargo, ND. They can arrange a hearing within the required ten days after you receive notice. After the request is made, the hearing will take place within thirty days.
What Happens if You Do Not Talk to Legal Counsel
If you do not talk to Fargo DUI attorneys about requesting a hearing, the revocation or suspension takes effect 25 days from the date on which you are notified. It is important to read the notification paperwork, as it will tell you whether or not you can still drive before your license is suspended.
Why You Need Legal Assistance
That is why it is in your best interest to speak to DUI attorneys about your arrest and case. They are well-experienced in DUI law and can help you with any court processes you need to follow in order to challenge any suspensions or revocations.
If you have a first offense DUI in North Dakota, or your blood alcohol content (BAC) fell between 0.08% and 0.17%, your license will usually be suspended for 91 days. If your BAC was higher, the suspension goes into effect for 180 days. This can be a particularly harsh penalty if you do not have a legal advocate on your side. So, if you have just been arrested and charged for DUI, contact DUI attorneys now so you can know how to proceed with your case.