Being arrested on a drunk driving charge is never a comfortable position to find oneself in, but if it happens, the driver should be ready to hire an attorney who will be able to help him or her with the case. A DWI Defense Attorney in Gonzales LA comes to the aid of clients who have a drunk driving charge, and the client needs to be aware of facts about drunk driving in Louisiana. Some of these facts are pretty standard across the states, but some are facts that are unique to Louisiana.
Drunk Driving Facts in Louisiana
The blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .08 percent for those drivers over the age of 21, and that point they will be considered driving while intoxicated (DWI). If the driver is under 21, the BAC level is .02 percent, he or she will be charged with a DWI, and penalties can be harsh for offenders. For example, if a drunk driver causes the death of another in automobile accident, he or she faces up to 30 years in prison. Since the penalties are that severe, the drunk driver would be wise to secure an experienced attorney right away.
More Facts about Drunk Driving in Louisiana
Drivers in Louisiana should know that if they refuse a chemical test for sobriety, on the first offense their licenses will be suspended for a year, or 365 days. Any offenses after that and the licenses are suspended for 730 days or two years, which can cause a number of inconveniences for the driver who still needs to get around. In addition, the first DWI can land the convicted defendant in jail for up to six months with a $1,000 fine.
An Attorney in Louisiana Who Can Represent You
Pujol, Pryor & Irwin have been providing drunk driving legal solutions for clients in the Gonzales, Louisiana area for many years. In addition to representation for drunk driving, the attorneys also take on cases for personal injury, business law, mediation, insurance, and wills. If any people are looking for a DWI Defense Attorney in Gonzales LA, the attorneys are available.